Now that Pennsylvania has begun issuing Medicinal Cannabis Cards to Pennsylvania patients, we thought we’d revisit some of the frequently asked questions we often field here at Cannabis Legal Solutions.
Q: Can I grow my own marijuana?
A: Absolutely not. Cultivation of marijuana is a felony offense. Depending on the circumstances, Manufacturing with Intent to Distribute can carry penalties of ten years or more. A medicinal cannabis card is no defense.
Q: Can I use my medicinal card in other states?
A: Yes and No, depending on the state in question.
Q: Can someone with a medicinal card issued by another state use their card in Pennsylvania?
A: No. Currently Pennsylvania has no reciprocal agreement with any other state allowing for out of state medicinal cards.
Q: If I have a medicinal cannabis card and get caught with marijuana, will I get charged with a crime?
A: Yes. Possession of marijuana is illegal even if you have a medicinal cannabis card. Only products certified by the Pennsylvania Department of Health will be available to patients and they must be purchased through a licensed dispensary.
Q: What does it cost to be registered with the program?
A: Compassionate Certification Centers charges $200 for the registration process. The Pennsylvania Department of Health also charges a non-refundable fee of $50 for the actual registration card. Charges may vary from other providers.
Q: Can my doctor give me a certification?
A: Only doctors registered with the PA Dept of Health can make a recommendation. You will need a diagnosis for your medical condition from your primary care physician no matter where you go to get registered.